EN
Upcoming
Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship

Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship

University of Graz

Elena Arigita

About
Duration 4 units
Unit 6 hours/unit
Licence CC BY-NC 4.0
Participants 56
Availability Unlimited
Start Date 5 September 2022
Costs € 0.00
Videos 18

General Course Information

#ArqusMOOC #MentalBordersofEurope #HumanitarianBorders #EuropeanNeighbourhoodPolicy #EuropeanIdentity #EuropeanCitizenship

The MOOC “Mental Borders, Physical Borders and the Shaping of Modern European Identity and Citizenship” explores the historical development of the concepts of Europe and European-ness from several geographical and cultural vantage points, in line with the geographical location of Arqus partner institutions.

Traditionally, the concept of citizenship has been connected to notions such as territory, nation or statehood; it has also involved the implicit or explicit discussion of certain rights and responsibilities. Nowadays, so-called “European citizenship” is in dire need of reformulation, of reimagination. It has to move away from limited geographical state and institutional boundaries towards wider, more socially committed ideas and ideals such as peace, prosperity and equality. This radical new way of thinking about citizenship must include equally novel conversations about our rights and responsibilities as European citizens today, and how these could develop in the future.

Content

Course Content

Since the early descriptions in the Greek chronicles, the foundational myths of Europe as a cultural and civilizational entity have been reshaped throughout medieval, modern, colonial and contemporary history. The mental borders framing European-ness inform discourses around typical European and non-European cultures, which have deeply influenced the socio-politics of inclusion and exclusion within and across European countries. This has led to advances in policies and attitudes that promote and value cultural diversity, but also to the recent resurgence in populist, far-right activity documented in many countries across Europe and beyond.

Consequently, the MOOC explores the advantages of asserting and defending hegemonic cultural notions of European identity from different geographical perspectives. In doing so, it seeks to inform contemporary debate on diversity and contribute to developing inclusive European identities which are truly open to the world.

The course is made up of four units, each of which has been designed to provide a multidisciplinary approach to the topic. Over four weeks, you will be introduced to the challenge of narrating Europe from different angles; you will learn more about the concepts of citizenship in relation to identity and border and about the complex idea of a “humanitarian border”. You will also approach, from the perspective of international relations, the role of the European Union as a global player.


Course Goals

Teachers from a range of different fields will provide the students of this MOOC with essential information on the academic theories and approaches that underpin current debates on social cohesion and citizenship. The aim is to provide very clear, essential information on facts and debates, to clarify misconceptions and rebut fake news. By the end of the MOOC, the students should be able to grasp, in all their complexity, the ways in which the past has been used to help shape contemporary historical narratives of Europe, present-day concepts of citizenship and identity, of borders and humanitarian borders, and the role of Europe as a global player.

Previous Knowledge

This course has been prepared for all students of the Arqus Alliance universities and all other interested participants regardless of the field they are studying or the stage they have reached.

Course Procedure

Unit 1: Narratives of Europe and the uses of the past

In the first week, students are introduced to the complex narratives of Europe in relation to the origins of nationalism. The course also explores the problematic ways in which Eastern Europe and the Islamic legacy are included and excluded from the narrative of Europe.

Unit 2: Citizenship and collective identity in Europe

In the second week, you will explore the nexus between citizenship and identity from the perspective of various academic disciplines. In particular, the course will address the relationship between citizenship and collective identity; citizenship as an institution of the modern nation-state; and how the concept of citizenship transcends institutional structures through the concept of linguistic citizenship.

Unit 3: Humanitarian Borders in Europe

In the third week, we introduce social sciences concepts of borders so as to help students understand what borders are. The dynamics of inclusion and exclusion are also explored through the concept of a humanitarian border.

Unit 4: EU as a Global Player

The last unit analyses the European Union as a normative force in order to stimulate critical thinking on the role of the EU in the world. As a complement to this analysis, it also looks at the EU approach to the Western Balkans and the Southern Neighbourhood countries.

Certificate

For actively participating in the course you will receive an automatic certificate which includes your username, the course name as well as the completed lessons. We want to point out that this certificate merely confirms that the user answered at least 75% of the self-assessment questions correctly.


License

This work is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0


Additional Information

The course language is English. The European Commission's support for the production of this MOOC does not constitute an endorsement of the contents, which reflect the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.


On Social Media

Course Instructor

Elena Arigita
Elena Arigita


Elena Arigita, University of Granada

Elena Arigita (PhD University of Granada) is a permanent lecturer of Arab and Islamic Studies at the Department of Semitic Studies of the University of Granada. Previously, she worked as language lecturer at the Universities of Cairo (1994-1997) and Al-Azhar (1997-1998) in Egypt; as postdoctoral fellow at the International Institute for the Study of Islam in the Modern World (ISIM) in Leiden (2004-2006); and as senior researcher at Casa Árabe (Cordoba), were she was responsible for the programme Muslims of the West (2007-2012). She is member of a research group on Contemporary Arab Studies at the UGR, and another one on Arab Ideologies and Cultural Expressions at the Autonomous University of Madrid. Her research interests and publications deal with religious authority and the institutionalization of Islam, and the politics of inclusion and exclusion of Islam in Europe.

Partners:

Florian Bieber, University of Graz

Florian Bieber (PhD, University of Vienna) is a Professor of Southeast European History and Politics and Director of the Centre for Southeast European Studies at the University of Graz, Austria. He studied history and political science at Trinity College (USA), University of Vienna and Central European University. Between 2001 and 2006, he worked in Belgrade (Serbia) and Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) for the European Centre for Minority Issues. He is a Visiting Professor at the Nationalism Studies Program at Central European University and has taught at the University of Kent, Cornell University, University of Bologna and the University of Sarajevo. He currently holds the Jean Monnet Chair in the Europeanisation of Southeastern Europe.

Dovile Jakniunaite, Vilnius University

Dovile Jakniunaite is professor at the Institute of International Relations and Political Science of Vilnius University, head of the Institute's International Relations Department. Her main research fields are foreign policy analysis, security studies, international relations theory, border studies, Russian foreign policy, conflicts in Georgia and Ukraine, unrecognized de facto states. She is the author of the books on Russia's neighbourhood policy and on Georgia's territorial conflicts, currently is doing research on mobility in the pandemic context and concept of periphery in Eastern Europe and Baltic States.

Ireneusz Pawel Karolewski, Leipzig University

Ireneusz Pawel Karolewski is professor for political theory and democracy research at the University of Leipzig. In 2009-2019, he was the professor of political science at the University of Wroclaw, visiting professor at the Harvard University, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Université de Montréal. Karolewski obtained his Ph.D. in political science from the University of Potsdam, where he was assistant professor from 1999 to 2009. His main areas of research are collective identity, democratic backsliding and nationalism. His more recent books include European Identity Revisited (Routledge, 2016) and The Nation and Nationalism in Europe (Edinburgh University Press, 2011).

Marco Mascia, University of Padova

Marco Mascia, PhD in International Relations; Professor of International Relations at the University of Padua. In the same University he is Chair holder of the UNESCO Chair “Human Rights, Democracy and Peace"; Chair holder of the Jean Monnet Chair “Political System of the European Union”; member of the Academic Board of the Joint International PhD Programme in "Human Rights, Society, and Multi-level Governance", amongst others. His research focus is on questions of international democracy and world order, global civil society, human rights and human security, local authority and human rights, European Union and democratic deficit. His publications include “The Making of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union”, “Human Rights and Responsibilities of an International Order”, “The effects of COVID-19 on the EU approach on the rule of law: implications for the Commission and European Parliament”.

Agnes Grond, University of Graz

Agnes Grond holds a post-doctoral research position at treffpunkt sprachen - Centre for Language, Plurilingualism and Didactics, University of Graz. Her research on Kurdish diaspora languages in Austria draws on the concepts of critical sociolinguistics with a special focus on new methodological approaches and the development of a practical framework for a broader understanding of the relation between environmental input, language policies, and language ideologies on language use in multilingual communication. Recent book projects include “Literale Lebenswelten. Sozialisationsprozesse in einer kurdischen Migrantenfamilie“ (Mouton de Gruyter) and the edited volumes “Mountains as Frontier Arenas. A collection of essays on early modern Kurdish history“ and “Central Anatolia. Linguistic and Cultural Diversity” (both Grazer Plurilingualismusstudien). She is co-editor of the Vienna Kurdish studies Yearbook.

Regine Paul, University of Bergen

Professor in Political Science at Bergen University’s Department of Government and Co-Editor of Critical Policy Studies. Her research in comparative public policy governance draws on critical political economy and science and technology studies, with an empirical focus on migration/mobility and risk regulation, including artificial intelligence technologies. Her recent books include: “The Political Economy of Border-Drawing” (Berghahn), "Varieties of Risk Analysis in Public Administrations" (Routledge) and the "Handbook on the Governance and Politics of Migration" (Elgar, co-edited). She holds a PhD in Social and Policy Science from the University of Bath/UK (2012) and had post-doc positions at Bielefeld University/Germany, as a John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellow at the Center for European Studies at Harvard University, and as Interim Professor in Comparative Political Science at Kassel University/Germany.

Synnøve Bendixsen, University of Bergen

Synnøve Bendixsen (PhD, Humboldt University and Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Science Sociales, cotutelle) is Professor and Head of Department of Social Anthropology, University of Bergen, Norway.  She is also a Research Professor at Chr. Michelsen Institute (Norway), where she is part of the Research Council of Norway project SuperCamp – the Middle East as a regional zone of containment. Bendixsen studied politics and policy as London School of Economics and Political Science and Institute des Etudes en Science Politique (Paris). She has conducted anthropological research on refugees and irregular migrants in Norway, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, on young Muslims and religiosity in Germany and on parenting practices in Norway. Her research focus is on questions of marginalization processes, border constructions, urban life and diversity. She is the co-editor for the Palgrave Macmillan series Approaches to Social Inequality and Difference. Photo: Eivind Senneset for the University of Bergen

Ling Han, Padova University

Ling Han, PhD in Political Science (“Human Rights, Society and Multi-level Governance”), holds a post-doctoral research position at the Human Rights Centre “Antonio Papisca” at the same university. As a young human rights scholar, her research interests are multiciliary, including the EU Global Human Rights Sanction Regime and its impacts, the role of human right in the EU-China relations, trafficking in persons in China, and international human rights law. She is the associated editor of the International Journal of Human Rights.

Ieva Giedraityte, Vilnius University

Ieva Giedraityte, MA in Latin American Studies (Barcelona University, 2010) and PhD in Political Science (Vilnius University, 2021), works at the Institute of International Relations and Political Science and has eight years of experience in research and teaching. Her research interests are EU external action (focus on development cooperation and relations with the Mediterranean countries), Latin American studies (focus on Central America), and development cooperation). She spent several years working as a trainee for different EU development cooperation bodies (DG DEVCO and in the EU Delegation in Honduras). Ieva is also a member of the European Studies master programme study committee and participates in the ARQUS network, working on a joint European Studies master programme.

Log in The course starts on 5 September 2022. Currently: 56 Participants

Free for all € 0.00

Partner

This MOOC has been developed by the Arqus European University Alliance during the Erasmus + co-funded period 2019-2022. Partners: University of Bergen, University of Granada, University of Graz, Leipzig University, Université de Lyon, University of Padua, Vilnius University


University of Graz

University of Graz

Graz

4711 Participants
13 Courses
Average rating
Partner
Partner
Rating

Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship

5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0

Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship
Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship
EN
Selbstlern-Kurs
Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship

Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship

Universität Graz

Elena Arigita

Über

Dauer 4 Lektionen
Einheiten 6 Stunden/Lektion
Lizenz CC BY-NC 4.0
Kursteilnehmer:innen 292
Verfügbarkeit Unbegrenzt
Startdatum 5. September 2022
Kosten € 0.00
Videos 18

Allgemeines zum Kurs

#ArqusMOOC #MentalBordersofEurope #HumanitarianBorders #EuropeanNeighbourhoodPolicy #EuropeanIdentity #EuropeanCitizenship

Der MOOC „Mental Borders, Physical Borders and the Shaping of Modern European Identity and Citizenship” erkundet die historische Entwicklung von Konzepten von Europa und aus verschiedenen geographischen und kulturellen Perspektiven verknüpft mit der geographischen Lage der Arqus Partnerinstitutionen.

Traditionell ist das Konzept von Citizenship verknüpft mit Begriffen wie Territorium, Nation oder Staat, es beinhaltet aber auch implizite oder explizite Diskussionen zu Rechten und Pflichten. Heutzutage muss die sogenannte „European Citizenship“ dringend neu gedacht und neu formuliert werden. Sie muss sich von limitierten geographischen und institutionellen Grenzen trennen und breitere, sozialere Ideen und Ideale wie Frieden, Wohlstand und Gleichbehandlung einbinden. Dieses radikale Neudenken von Citizenship muss genauso neue Denkansätze über unsere Rechte und Pflichten als Europäische Bürger*innen beinhalten und diskutieren, wie diese in Zukunft entwickelt werden können.

Inhalt

Kursinhalt

Seit frühen Beschreibungen in griechischen Chroniken wurden die Gründungsmythen von Europa als kulturelle und zivilisierte Einheit durch mittelalterliche, moderne, koloniale und zeitgenössische Geschichte beeinflusst. Die mentalen Grenzen von European-ness informieren Diskurse über typische europäische und nicht-europäische Kulturen, die die sozio-politischen Inklusionen und Exklusionen innerhalb europäischer Länder stark beeinflusst haben. Das führt zu Fortschritten in Policies und Haltungen die kulturelle Vielfalt promoten und wertschätzen, aber auch zur aktuellen Stärkung von populistischen, rechten Aktivitäten, die in vielen Länden in Europa und darüber hinaus dokumentiert werden.

Daher untersucht der MOOC die Vorteile der Behauptung und Verteidigung hegemonialer kultureller Vorstellungen von europäischer Identität aus verschiedenen geografischen Perspektiven. Auf diese Weise soll er die gegenwärtige Debatte über Vielfalt bereichern und zur Entwicklung integrativer europäischer Identitäten beitragen, die wirklich weltoffen sind.

Der Kurs besteht aus vier Einheiten, von denen jede so konzipiert ist, dass sie einen multidisziplinären Zugang zum Thema bietet. Im Laufe der vier Wochen werden Sie mit der Herausforderung konfrontiert, Europa aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln zu erzählen; Sie werden mehr über die Konzepte der Staatsbürgerschaft im Zusammenhang mit Identität und Grenze und über die komplexe Idee einer "humanitären Grenze" erfahren. Außerdem werden Sie sich aus der Perspektive der internationalen Beziehungen mit der Rolle der Europäischen Union als globaler Akteur befassen.


Lernziele

Lehrkräfte aus verschiedenen Fachbereichen werden den Teilnehmenden dieses MOOC wesentliche Informationen über die wissenschaftlichen Theorien und Ansätze vermitteln, die den aktuellen Debatten über sozialen Zusammenhalt und Citizenship zugrunde liegen. Ziel ist es, sehr klare, wesentliche Informationen über Fakten und Debatten zu vermitteln, um Missverständnisse zu klären und Fake News zu widerlegen. Am Ende des MOOC sollten die Teilnehmenden in der Lage sein, die Art und Weise, wie die Vergangenheit genutzt wurde, um zeitgenössische historische Narrative über Europa zu formen, heutige Konzepte von Citizenship und Identität, von Grenzen und humanitären Grenzen sowie die Rolle Europas als globaler Akteur in ihrer ganzen Komplexität zu erfassen.

Vorkenntnisse

Dieser Kurs richtet sich an alle Studierenden der Arqus-Allianz-Hochschulen und an alle anderen interessierten Teilnehmer*innen, unabhängig von der Fachrichtung oder dem Stand ihres Studiums.

Kursablauf

Einheit 1: Erzählungen von Europa und die Verwendung der Vergangenheit

In der ersten Woche werden die Teilnehmenden in die komplexen Erzählungen von Europa im Zusammenhang mit den Ursprüngen des Nationalismus eingeführt. Der Kurs untersucht auch die problematische Art und Weise, in der Osteuropa und das islamische Erbe in die Erzählung von Europa einbezogen und ausgeschlossen werden.

Einheit 2: Citizenship und kollektive Identität in Europa


In der zweiten Woche werden Sie die Verbindung zwischen Citizenship und Identität aus der Perspektive verschiedener akademischer Disziplinen untersuchen. Der Kurs befasst sich insbesondere mit der Beziehung zwischen Staatsbürgerschaft und kollektiver Identität, mit der Staatsbürgerschaft als Institution des modernen Nationalstaats und mit der Frage, wie das Konzept der Staatsbürgerschaft institutionelle Strukturen durch das Konzept der sprachlichen Staatsbürgerschaft übersteigt.

Einheit 3: Humanitäre Grenzen in Europa

In der dritten Woche führen wir sozialwissenschaftliche Konzepte von Grenzen ein, um den Teilnehmenden dabei zu helfen, zu verstehen, was Grenzen sind. Die Dynamik von Inklusion und Exklusion wird auch anhand des Konzepts der humanitären Grenze untersucht.

Einheit 4: Die EU als globaler Akteur

In der letzten Einheit wird die Europäische Union als normative Kraft analysiert, um kritisches Denken über die Rolle der EU in der Welt anzuregen. Ergänzend zu dieser Analyse wird auch der Ansatz der EU gegenüber dem westlichen Balkan und den Ländern der südlichen Nachbarschaft untersucht.

Zertifikat

Für die aktive Teilnahme am Kurs erfolgt bei Abschluss die Ausstellung eines automatisierten Zertifikats, welches Ihren Benutzernamen, den Kursnamen und die abgeschlossenen Lektionen beinhalten. Es wird darauf hingewiesen, dass es sich nur um eine Bestätigung handelt, die aussagt, dass die Benutzerin oder der Benutzer zumindest 75% der gestellten Selbstüberprüfungsfragen richtig beantwortet hat.


Lizenz

Dieses Werk ist lizenziert unter CC BY-NC 4.0


Zusätzliche Informationen

Die Kurssprache ist Englisch. Die Unterstützung der europäischen Kommission für die Produktion dieses MOOCs bedeutet nicht, dass die Inhalte befürwortet werden. Jene stammen ausschließlich von den Autor*innen des MOOCs.


Auf Social Media

Kursleitung

Elena Arigita
Elena Arigita

Elena Arigita, Universität Granada

Elena Arigita (PhD Universität Granada) ist Lehrende in Arabischen und Islamischen Studien am Institut für jüdische Studie der Universität Granada. Davor hat sie als Sprachlehrende an den Universitäten Kairo (1994-1997) und Al-Azahr (1997-1998) in Ägypten, als Post-Doc am Internationalen Institut für Islamwissenschaft in der modernen Welt (ISIM) in Leiden (2004-2006), und als Senior Researcher in Casa Árabe (Cordoba) gearbeitet, wo sie für das Programm Muslime des Westens (2007-2012) verantwortlich war. Sie ist Mitglied einer Forschungsgruppe für Contemporary Arab Studies an der Universität Granada und einer zu arabischen Ideologien und kulturellen Ausprägungen an der Autonomen Universität Madrid. Ihre Forschungsinteressen und Publikationen befasse sich mit religiöser Autorität und der Institutionalisierung von Islam und der Politik von Inklusion und Exklusion von Islam in Europa.

Partners:

Florian Bieber, Universität Graz

Florian Bieber (PhD, Universität Wien) ist Professor für Südosteuropäische Geschichte und Politik und Leiter des Zentrums für Südosteuropastudien an der Universität Graz. Er studierte Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft am Trinity College (USA), an der Universität Wien und an der Central European University. Zwischen 2001 und 2006 arbeitete er in Belgrad (Serbien) und Sarajevo (Bosnien und Herzegovina) für das Europäische Zentrum für Minderheitenfragen. Er ist Gastprofessor an der Central European University und hat an den Universitäten Kent, Cornell, Bologna und Sarajevo gelehrt. Er bekleidet derzeit den Jean-Monnet-Lehrstuhl für die Europäisierung von Südosteuropa.

Dovile Jakniunaite, Universität Vilnius

Dovile Jakniunaite ist Professorin am Institut für Internationale Beziehungen und Politikwissenschaft der Universität Vilnius und Leiterin des Bereichs Internationale Beziehungen. Ihre Hauptforschungsfelder sind Außenpolitische Analysen, Sicherheitsstudien, Theorien für internationale Beziehungen, Border Studies, Russische Außenpolitik, Konflikte in Georgien und der Ukraine und nicht-anerkannte Staaten. Sie ist Autorin zu Russischen Nachbarschaftsbeziehungen und Georgiens Territorialkonflikten. Derzeit forscht sie zu Mobilität in der Pandemie und Konzepten von Peripherie in Osteuropa und den Baltischen Staaten.

Ireneusz Pawel Karolewski, Universität Leipzig

Ireneusz Pawel Karolewski ist Professor für politische Theorie und Demokratieforschung an der Universität Leipzig. Von 2009 bis 2019 war er Professor für Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Wroclaw und Gastprofessor an der Universität Harvard, an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem und der Université de Montréal. Karolewski dissertierte in Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Potsdam, wo er von 1999-2009 Assistenzprofessor war. Zu seinen neuesten Publikationen gehören European Identity Revisited (Routledge, 2016) und The Nation and Nationalism in Europe (Edinburgh University Press, 2011).

Marco Mascia, Universität Padua

Marco Mascia, PhD in Internationalen Beziehungen, ist Professor für Internationale Beziehungen an der Universität Padua. Dort bekleidet er den UNESCO-Lehrstuhl für Menschenrechte, Demokratie und Frieden und den Jean-Monnet-Lehrstuhl „Political Relations of the European Union“. Er ist u.a. Mitglied des Boards für das internationale Joint-PhD-Programm Menschenrechte, Gesellschaft und multi-level Governance. Seine Forschung fokussiert auf Fragen der internationalen Demokratie und Weltordnung, globaler Zivilgesellschaft, Menschenrechte und Sicherheit und die Europäische Union und Demokratiedefizite. Zu seinen Publikationen gehören “The Making of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union”, “Human Rights and Responsibilities of an International Order”, “The effects of COVID-19 on the EU approach on the rule of law: implications for the Commission and European Parliament”.

Agnes Grond, Universität Graz

Agnes Grond ist Postdoc-Assistentin bei treffpunkt Sprachen – Zentrum für Sprache, Plurilinguistik und Didaktik an der Universität Graz. Sie forscht zu kurdischen Diaspora-Sprachen in Österreich basierend auf kritischer Soziolinguistik mit Fokus auf neue methodische Herangehensweisen und die Entwicklung eines praktischen Frameworks für ein breiteres Verständnis über den Zusammenhang zwischen Umwelteinflüssen, Sprachpolitik, Ideologien auf die Sprachnutzung in multilingualer Kommunikation. Aktuelle Publikationen sind“Literale Lebenswelten. Sozialisationsprozesse in einer kurdischen Migrantenfamilie“ (Mouton de Gruyter) und “Mountains as Frontier Arenas. A collection of essays on early modern Kurdish history“ sowie “Central Anatolia. Linguistic and Cultural Diversity” (both Grazer Plurilingualismusstudien) als Herausgeberin. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin des Jahrbuchs der Wiener Kurdischen Studien.

Regine Paul, Universität Bergen

Regine Paul ist Professorin in Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Bergen und Mitherausgeberin von Critical Policy Studies. Ihre Forschung in vergleichender Public Policy Governance fußt auf kritische politische Wirtschafts-, Wissenschafts- und Technologiestudien mit einem empirischen Fokus auf Migration/Mobilität und Risikoregulierung und beinhaltet KI-technologien. Ihre aktuellen Publikationen sind The Political Economy of Border-Drawing” (Berghahn), "Varieties of Risk Analysis in Public Administrations" (Routledge) und das "Handbook on the Governance and Politics of Migration" (Elgar, Mitherausgeberin). Sie hat ihren PhD in Sozial- und Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Bath/UK abeschlossen und PostDoc-Positionen an der Universität Bielefeld, als John F. Kennedy-Memorial Fellow am Zentrum für europäische Studien der Harvard Universität und als Interims-Professorin in vergleichender Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Kassel.

Synnøve Bendixsen, Universität Bergen

Synnøve Bendixsen (PhD, Humboldt-Universität und Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Science Sociales cotutelle) ist Professorin und Leiterin des Instituts für Sozialanthropologie an der Universität Bergen, Norwegen. Sie ist außerdem Professorin am Chr. Michelsen Institut (Norwegen), wo sie Teil des Forschungskreises zum Projekt Supercamp – the Middle East as a regional zone of containment ist. Bendixsen hat Politik und Policy an der London School of Economics and Political Science und am Institute des Etude en Science Politique (Paris) studiert. Sie hat anthropologische Forschung zu Geflüchteten und irregulären Migrant*innen in Norwegen, Serbien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, zu jungen Muslim*innen und Religiosität in Deutschland und zu Elternpraxis in Norwegen durchgeführt. Ihre Forschung fokussiert auf Fragen von Marginalisierungsprozessen, Grenzkonstruktionen, urbanes Leben und Diversität. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin der Palgrave Macmillan-Serie Approaches to Social Inequality and Difference.

Ling Han, Universität Padua

Ling Han, PhD in Politikwissenschaft („Human Rights, Society and Multi-level Governance”) hat eine PostDoc-Stelle am Menschenrechtszentrum “Antonio Papisca” an der Universität Padua. Als junge Menschenrechtsforscherin interessiert sie sich vor allem für das globale Menschenrechts-Saktions-Regime der EU und dessen Auswirkungen, für die Rolle von Menschenrechten in EU-China-Beziehungen, Menschenhandel in China und internationales Menschrechte. Sie ist assoz. Herausgeberin des Interanational Journal of Human Rights.

Ieva Giedraityte, Universität Vilnius

Ieva Giedraityte, MA in lateinamerikanischen Studien (Universität Barcelona, 2010) und PhD in Politikwissenschaft (Universität Vilnius, 2021), arbeitet dort am Institut für internationale Beziehungen und Politikwissenschaft und hat acht Jahre Erfahrung in Forschung und Lehre. Ihre Forschungsinteressen sind auswärtige Maßnahmen der EU (Fokus auf Entwicklungskooperationen und Beziehungen mit mediterranen Ländern) und lateinamerikanische Studien (Fokus auf Zentralamerika). Sie hat einige Jahre als Trainee für verschiedene EU-Entwicklungskooperationen gearbeitet (DG DEVCO und für die EU-Delegation in Honduras). Ieva ist auch Teil des Masterprogramms für europäische Studien und des Arqus-Netzwerks, wo sie an einem Joint Degree European Studies Masterprogramm arbeitet.

Anmelden & Einschreiben Aktuell: 292 Teilnehmer:innen

Kostenlos für alle € 0.00

Partner:innen

Dieser MOOC wurde von der Europäischen Hochschulallianz Arqus in der Erasmus+ Förderperiode 2019-2022 entwickelt. Partner: Universität Bergen, Universität Granada, Universität Graz, Universität Leipzig, Universität Lyon, Universität Padua, Universität Vilnius


Universität Graz

Universität Graz

Graz

8426 Teilnehmer:innen
19 Kurse
Durchschnittliche Bewertung
Partner:innen
Partner:innen

Bewertung

Mental borders, physical borders and the shaping of modern European identity and citizenship

5 Sterne
3
4 Sterne
1
3 Sterne
1
2 Sterne
0
1 Sterne
0