Food Biotechnology

  • free
 € 0,- for all
  • Start date07.10.2019
  • available untilunlimited
  • 7 week(s)1 hour(s)/week
  • Michael Murkovic
  • Creative CommonsLicense CC BY
English

General information about the course


The iMoox-course Food Biotechnology is a mandatory preparative course for the correspondent lecture of the master study program Biotechnology at Graz University of Technology. This course gives an overview of the most common processes that are used for food manufacturing.

Course content


  • Module 1: Food fermentations
  • Module 2: Alcoholic fermentation
  • Module 3: Acetic acid fermentation
  • Module 4: Yoghurt production
  • Module 5: Vegetables fermentation
  • Module 6: Enzymes for food production
  • Module 7: Mushrooms

Prerequisites


Basic knowledge of biochemistry and microbial metabolism is expected.

ECTS-credit points


Note: This MOOC is available publicly and free.

This MOOC is also offered as part of the lecture "Food Biotechnology", which is provided at Graz University of Technology (TU Graz). As a prerequisite to attend the lecture it is necessary to be registered at TU Graz. In this case no additional registration for the course is necessary and the login is with your eduID. Each module includes a self-assessment. For a positive evaluation of the MOOC it is necessary to finish all the modules with 75 % correct response.

Certificate of Participation


For actively participating in the course you will receive an automatic confirmation of participation (certificate) which includes your username, the course title, course duration as well as the hours required to complete the course. We want to point out that this certificate merely confirms that the user answered at least 75% of the self-assessment questions correctly.

License


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons

Michael Murkovic


Michael Murkovic has studied Technical Chemistry at Graz University of Technology and specialized in the field of biotechnology. After finishing his PhD he was post doc at ETH Zürich and was later employed by an industrial antibiotics producer in the R&D department. In 1993 he became a member of staff of Graz University of Technology in the field of Food Chemistry. His main research interest is in the formation of carcinogenic compounds during heating of foods.

Food Biotechnology

  • kostenlos € 0,- für alle
  • Startdatum07.10.2019
  • verfügbar bisUnbegrenzt
  • 7 Woche(n)1 Stunde(n)/Woche
  • Michael Murkovic
  • Creative CommonsLizenz CC BY
Englisch

Allgemeines zum Kurs


Der iMoox-Kurs Lebensmittelbiotechnologie ist ein obligatorischer Vorbereitungskurs für die entsprechende Vorlesung des Masterstudiengangs Biotechnologie an der Technischen Universität Graz. Dieser Kurs gibt einen Überblick über die gängigsten Verfahren, die in der Lebensmittelherstellung eingesetzt werden.

Kursinhalt


  • Modul 1: Lebensmittelfermentationen
  • Modul 2: Alkoholische Gärung
  • Modul 3: Essigsäure-Fermentation
  • Modul 4: Joghurtproduktion
  • Modul 5: Gärung von Gemüse
  • Modul 6: Enzyme für die Lebensmittelproduktion
  • Modul 7: Pilze

Vorkenntnisse


Grundkenntnisse in Biochemie und mikrobiellem Stoffwechsel werden vorausgesetzt.

ECTS-credit points


Hinweis: Dieses MOOC ist öffentlich zugänglich und kostenlos.

Dieses MOOC wird auch im Rahmen der Vorlesung "Food Biotechnology" angeboten, die an der Technischen Universität Graz (TU Graz) angeboten wird. Als Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme an der Vorlesung ist eine Registrierung an der TU Graz erforderlich. In diesem Fall ist keine zusätzliche Anmeldung für den Kurs erforderlich und der Login erfolgt mit Ihrer eduID. Jedes Modul beinhaltet eine Selbstüberprüfung. Für eine positive Bewertung des MOOC ist es notwendig, alle Module mit 75 % korrekter Antwort zu beenden.

Teilnahmebestätigung


Für die aktive Teilnahme am Kurs erhalten Sie eine automatische Teilnahmebestätigung (Zertifikat), die Ihren Benutzernamen, den Kurstitel, die Kursdauer sowie die für den Abschluss des Kurses erforderlichen Stunden enthält. Wir weisen darauf hin, dass dieses Zertifikat lediglich bestätigt, dass der Nutzer, die Nutzerin mindestens 75% der Fragen zur Selbsteinschätzung korrekt beantwortet hat.

Lizenz


Dieses Werk ist lizenziert unter einer  CC - Creative Commons

Michael Murkovic


Michael Murkovic hat an der Technischen Universität Graz Technische Chemie studiert und sich auf den Bereich der Biotechnologie spezialisiert. Nach Abschluss seiner Doktorarbeit war er Postdoc an der ETH Zürich und später bei einem industriellen Antibiotika-Hersteller in der F&E-Abteilung beschäftigt. Seit 1993 ist er Mitarbeiter der Technischen Universität Graz im Bereich der Lebensmittelchemie. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Bildung krebserregender Verbindungen beim Erwärmen von Lebensmitteln.