Kidney Disease in Old Age (the SCOPE project)

  • free € 0,- for all
  • Start date01.10.2019
  • available untilunlimited
  • 3 week(s)8 hour(s)/week
  • Prof. Regina Roller-Wirnsberger, MD, ...
  • Creative CommonsLicense CC BY-NC ND
English

General information about the course


Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is defined as change of kidney structure of declining function for more than three months with implications for health. CKD is an important public health problem worldwide, especially in older people. Evidence shows that, whereas the disease prevalence ranges between 10.2% and 16.0% in the adult population, this may peak up to over 50% among the 75+ age group. This suggests that future population aging in industrialized countries will be accompanied by an increase in the prevalence of CKD and its complications. In addition, research confirmed that older individuals with CKD might be at higher risk for developing functional limitation and disability, including impaired physical function, frailty, cognitive impairment, vision impairment, malnutrition, and sarcopenia.

This MOOC aims at closing gaps of basic knowledge addressing CKD in old age and its implications for medical management of older patients in general. It will address pathophysiological mechanisms that underlie CKD, will explain diagnostic pathways for kidney function with a focus on older patients and will explain the complex care management in a case-based way.

Course content


Chronic kidney disease (CKD) is defined as the presence of kidney structure of function abnormalities for more than three months with implications for health, especially with older people. Although CKD prevalence is increasing and the importance of an early diagnosis to prevent complications such as end-stage renal disease (ESRD) is well established, however, the screening programs in Europe are highly heterogeneous, fragmented, being in most cases based on opportunistic rather than structured assessments of patients. The current course aims at bringing together all evidence-based information on CKD in old age, ranging from molecular and pathological underlying mechanisms, pitfalls of diagnostic and clinical management of CKD in old age as well as guideline-based recommendations for daily clinical practice.

Learning goals


Following this course students will:

  • know the impact of ageing mechanisms on kidney function
  • know the interaction of multimorbidity and chronic kidney disease (CKD)
  • know the impact of CKD on individual resilience, cognitive and physical function
  • be able to nominate laboratory test systems to be used for the accurate determination of kidney function in old age
  • be able to consider an older person’s need with CKD in a holistic and personalized manner

Prerequisites


Basic knowledge of anatomy of kidney, bone, muscle structure, physiology of kidney function, endocrine and haemato-poetic system, basic knowledge of laboratory testing of serum and urine samples.

Course procedure


The course is divided into three different modules. The completion of all modules allow to collect 1,0 European Credit (ECTS). Following registration learners attend three different courses of 10-15 minutes. Additionally, information material is provided together with the videos. It is expected that students undergo a short self-assessment of each sub-topic (course), answering 4 multiple choice questions (MCQs), either Typ-A or Pick-N style. Self-assessment may be repeated up to a maximum of 5 times. In order to receive a participation acknowledgement at least 75% have to be reached at each quiz. Finally, an evaluation of the course is requested from participants for quality assurance of the training course. With provision of the feedback participants agree with an anonymous statistical workup and publication of evaluations.

Financed by


This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 634869
SCOPE Logo SCOPE – Screening for Chronic Kidney Disease among Older People across Europe Acknowledgement of support from the EC Grant Agreement n. 634869 (SCOPE)

Flyer


DE EN FR HE IT NL PL ES SV

Certificate of Participation


Participation is graduated by a certificate, which includes the name of the participant, the title of the course, the ECTS achieved. The certificate is based on a 75% positive assessment following the course. Accreditation as elective is possible if the course content is accepted by partner universities and the approved by an assessment format accepted by partners locally.

License


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons - No Commercial NoDerivs

Prof. Regina Roller-Wirnsberger, MD, MME
Prof. Sabine Zitta MD


Regina Roller-Wirnsberger was appointed Professor for Geriatric Medicine and Curricular Development in 2011 at Medical University of Graz. Since then she has been involved in several EU- funded international and also national collaborative projects, all of those with a focus on complex care management of geriatric patients.

Sabine Zitta has been working as consultant of nephrology for more than 25 years at Medical University of Graz, Austria. She has a longstanding clinical and research expertise in laboratory testing of kidney function. She has also been actively involved into educational development on undergraduate level and continuous professional training for more than two decades.

The Consortium of the SCOPE project comprises of 9 partners. The logos of the respective participants in the project are outline on this start page of the MOOC. For further information about the distinct partners please visit the homepages of the affiliated universities. For further reading and information about the SCOPE project please visit the web-side of the project (http://www.scopeproject.eu).

Partner


INRCA Logo(project coordinator) Erasmus MC Rotterdam Logo
FAU Logo Bellvitge Hospital Universitari Logo
BUG Logo Uppsala Universitet Logo
Logo MedUni Graz
SERMAS Logo
Medical University of Lodz Logo

Kidney Disease in Old Age

  • kostenlos
 € 0,- für alle
  • Startdatum01.10.2019
  • verfügbar bisUnbegrenzt
  • 3 Woche(n)8 Stunde(n)/Woche
  • Prof. Regina Roller-Wirnsberger, MD, ...
  • Creative CommonsLizenz CC BY-NC ND
Englisch

Allgemeines zum Kurs


Chronische Nierenerkrankungen (CKD) werden als Veränderungen der Nierenfunktion, welche länger als drei Monate andauern und gesundheitliche Auswirkungen nach sich ziehen, definiert. Chronische Nierenerkrankungen werden mit zunehmendem Lebensalter häufiger und stellen vor allem bei älteren Menschen eine Herausforderung für das Gesundheitssystem und im Gesundheitsbereich Beschäftigte, wie Ärzte, Diplomiertes Pflegepersonal, Pharmazeuten und andere dar. Gemäß der aktuellen Evidenzlage reicht die Krankheitsprävalenz bei Erwachsenen von 10.2% bis 16%, wobei diese in der Altersgruppe 75+ bis zu über 50% erreichen kann. Es ist auf Grund der demografischen Entwicklungen zu erwarten, dass es in den kommenden Jahrzehnten auch zu einer zahlenmäßigen Zunahme von Patienten kommen wird, welche an einer Einschränkung der Nierenfunktion leiden. Begleitend zur Nierenerkrankung und der häufig damit verbundenen Multimorbidität tragen vor allem ältere Patienten ein erhöhtes Risiko für funktionelle physische und kognitive Einschränkungen und Behinderung.

Dieses MOOC informiert über Alterungsprozesse und deren Auswirkung auf die Nierenfunktion. Weiters werden die Bestimmungsmethoden zur Ermittlung der Nierenfunktion und die Herausforderung der Methoden bei älteren Patienten beleuchtet. Im letzten Kurs des MOOC wird speziell auf das Komplexmanagement vor allem älterer Patienten mit eingeschränkter Nierenfunktion eingegangen.

Kursinhalt


Molekulare und klinische Grundlagen des Alterungsprozesses, Nierenfunktion im Alter, laborchemische Bestimmungsmethoden der Nierenfunktion mit besonderer Berücksichtigung von Besonderheiten bei alten Menschen, klinischen Management älterer Patienten mit eingeschränkter Nierenfunktion mit speziellem Blick auf Multimorbidität und Funktionalität in der täglichen klinischen Praxis.

Lernziele


Nach Absolvierung des MOOCs:

  • Kennen Studierende die Auswirkungen des Alterungsprozesses auf die Nierenfunktion
  • Kennen Studierende den Einfluss einer chronischen Nierenfunktionsstörung im Alter auf andere Erkrankungen (Multimorbidität)
  • Kennen Studierende den Einfluss einer chronischen Nierenfunktionsstörung im Alter auf die individuelle physische und kognitive Funktionalität (Frailty)
  • Können Studierende laborchemische Verfahren zur Bestimmung der Nierenfunktion benennen und Besonderheiten in der Diagnostik bei alten Menschen im klinischen Alltag berücksichtigen
  • Sind Studierende in der Lage, die Besonderheiten der Bedürfnisse älterer Menschen mit chronischen Nierenerkrankungen (CKD) in ganzheitlicher und personalisierter Art und Weise zu erkennen

Vorkenntnisse


Grundkenntnisse über die Anatomie der Niere, Knochen, Muskelstrukturen, Physiologie der Nierenfunktion, endokrines und hämatopoetisches System, Grundkenntnisse über Laboruntersuchungen von Serum und Urinproben.

Kursablauf


Der Kurs ist in drei unterschiedliche Kurse unterteilt. Die positive Absolvierung des gesamten MOOC (= 3 Kurse) entspricht einer Leistung im Umfang von 1,0 Europäischen Credits (ECTS). Nach Registrierung absolvieren Studierende drei Kurse online in der Dauer von 10-15 Minuten und erhalten zusätzliches Lernmaterial zum Thema bereitgestellt. Nach jedem Kurs finden Absolventen ein kurzes Selbst-Assessment aus 4 multiple Choice Fragen (Typ-A oder Pick-N Stil). Die Kurse können beliebig oft absolviert werden. Für die Absolvierung des nachgeschalteten Kurz-Assessments sind 5 Versuche vorgesehen. Um eine Teilnahmebestätigung zu erhalten, müssen bei jedem Quiz mindestens 75% erreicht werden. Abschließend wird von den Teilnehmern eine Kursevaluierung zum Zwecke der Qualitätssicherung des Online Kurses durchgeführt. Durch die Bereitstellung des Feedbacks stimmen die Teilnehmer einer anonymen statistischen Auswertung und Veröffentlichung der Evaluierung zu.

Danksagung (Fördergeber)


SCOPE Logo SCOPE – Screening for Chronic Kidney Disease among Older People across Europe Acknowledgement of support from the EC Grant Agreement n. 634869 (SCOPE)

Flyer


DE EN FR HE IT NL PL ES SV

Teilnahmebestätigung


Die Teilnahme wird durch ein Zertifikat bestätigt, welches den Namen des Teilnehmers / der Teilnehmerin, den Kurstitel und die erlangten ECTS beinhaltet. Das Zertifikat beruht auf einer zu mindestens 75% positiven Bewertung des Kurses. Eine Akkreditierung als Wahlfach ist möglich, sofern der Kursinhalt von Partneruniversitäten akzeptiert und durch eine Überprüfung lokaler Partner anerkannt wird.

Lizenz


Dieses Werk ist lizenziert unter einer CC - nicht kommerziell - keine Bearbeitung

Prof. Regina Roller-Wirnsberger, MD, MME
Prof. Sabine Zitta MD


Regina Roller-Wirnsberger wurde 2011 zur Professorin für geriatrische Medizin und Curriculumsentwicklung an der Medizinischen Universität Graz ernannt. Seitdem war sie an zahlreichen EU-geförderten internationalen und nationalen gemeinschaftlichen Projekten beteiligt, welche sich allesamt auf das komplexe Versorgungsmanagement geriatrischer Patienten fokussieren.

Univ. Prof.in Dr.in Sabine Zitta arbeitet seit mehr als 25 Jahren als Fachärztin für Nephrologie an der Universitätsklinik für Innere Medizin Graz. Sie gilt international als Expertin im Bereich laborchemischer Funktionsdiagnostik in der Nephrologie. Neben ihrer Fachexpertise in diesem Fachbereich verfügt sie über langjährige Erfahrungen im Lehr.- und Ausbildungsbereich.

Das Konsortium des SCOPE Projektes besteht aus insgesamt 9 Partnern, die mit den Logos ihrer Organisationen auf dieser Startseite dargestellt sind. Nähere Informationen zu den einzelnen Partnern entnehmen Sie bitte den Homepages der Institutionen oder besuchen Sie die Webseite des SCOPE Projekts (http://www.scopeproject.eu).

Partner


This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 634869
INRCA Logo(Projekt Koordinator) Erasmus MC Rotterdam Logo
FAU Logo Bellvitge Hospital Universitari Logo
BUG Logo Uppsala Universitet Logo
Med Uni Graz Logo SERMAS Logo
Medical University of Lodz Logo